2 Thess 1:1-5

Paul, Silvanus, and Timothy,

To the church of the Thessalonians in God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ:

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

We ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers,[a] as is right, because your faith is growing abundantly, and the love of every one of you for one another is increasing. Therefore we ourselves boast about you in the churches of God for your steadfastness and faith in all your persecutions and in the afflictions that you are enduring.

This is evidence of the righteous judgment of God, that you may be considered worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are also suffering

2 responses to “2 Thess 1:1-5

  1. Am I suffering for God’s kingdom? I don’t need to seek out confrontation and humiliation for my own glory. But is my obedience bringing me into conflict with this world….or am I protecting myself by hiding my light under a lamp?

    The measure of growth and God’s maturation in us is increasing faith and love for the other saints. Can I point to that in my life?

  2. Years ago I would have read this and thought: What’s the big deal about boasting about the church’s love for one another? My cynical, bitter heart would have allowed me to bypass this without any thought. Yet, the 2nd commandment Christ gave was for us to love one another. Paul is boasting about their perseverance and faith through all obstacles which derived from their love for one another. There is a correlation between growth in faith and love for one another. Love has always been a catalyst for growth. And the way a person loves another, reveals the depth of their faith in Christ. The more love, the more evidence. Less love, less evidence.

Leave a Reply

