Acts 12:16-19

16 But Peter kept on knocking, and when they opened the door and saw him, they were astonished. 17 Peter motioned with his hand for them to be quiet and described how the Lord had brought him out of prison. “Tell James and the other brothers and sisters about this,” he said, and then he left for another place.

18 In the morning, there was no small commotion among the soldiers as to what had become of Peter. 19 After Herod had a thorough search made for him and did not find him, he cross-examined the guards and ordered that they be executed.

One response to “Acts 12:16-19

  1. Peter was delivered for God’s glory, and to show His hand on this fledgling church. Yet there is no argument that it led to these soldiers being executed because of his escape.

    God is sovereign in his plans and has authority over creation, the redeemed, and the unregenerate. Lives are sometimes consumed for His purpose. I call myself redeemed and believed I have been chosen for His purpose. I have surrendered to His plans and will. If He chooses to use me in any what that He can, what complaint or argument could I have? Yet I remain so steadfast in my selfishness that I serve the kingdom of me and look for every way to grow that kingdom.

Leave a Reply

